DTC 375 Blog Post #8 Music

Music is amazing in what it does. Music brings out people’s emotions and memories. Music sets up the environment for games. To me music is one of the most important parts of any production. Music is a big part of my life. I’ve played music for such a long time I can’t even remember when I started. I’ve played piano, sax, violin, guitar and bass. I’ve dabbled in drums and other instruments. Music is such an incredibly interesting subject that I can barely dig into it. In my opinion I think that everyone should at least try playing an interest in some capacity. Music conveys such emotion that it can change the tone of a setting in a heartbeat. Changing a chord from major to minor is such a shocking change that people don’t even realize how strong it is. In reality that change is just a one note being changed but it has such a powerful effect. Music in video games really allows for the immersion that players are seeking. Some of my favorite music is from video games. If I played the Super Mario Brothers theme in a class and asked how many people recognized it I bet all of the hands would be raised. Music is iconic. Music is cultural. Music is pretty much the thing that truly immerses people into games and movies. Music is everywhere and anything can be turned into music. I did a project for my DTC 355 class where we took every day sounds and turned them into music. It was one of my favorite projects and I think it turned out spectacular. Music is what brings together a project and it brings together people in such a way that nothing else can match it. Music is such an important thing in life that everyone needs to appreciate it if they aren’t already.

Comments:

Post 8: I Really Don’t Think Facebook is all that Bad

Blog 9: Freestyle

 

Leave a comment